Highway 136 Corridor East Association Names New Chairperson

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

July 5, 2001

Highway 136 Corridor East Association Names New Chairperson

The Highway 136 Corridor East group is under new leadership. The local trans-portation lobby group elected new officers at its last meeting.

Cathy Middleton of Downing was elected chairperson. John Johnson of Memphis will serve as vice-chairman. Ann Marie Kuchinski will be the secretary and Rick Gregory will continue to serve as treasurer.

The following at-large members were elected to the board from member counties:

Putnam County-Danny Valentine;

Scotland County- Sam Berkowitz;

Schuyler County - Jim Werner.

"The failure of the Senate to agree on a transportation funding plan to be placed before the people will further increase competition between urban and rural areas for the limited transportation dollars available," Middleton stated. "It is imperative that the Highway 136 East Corridor association maintains a strong and active membership if we are to continue to see transportation dollars spent on Highway 136 projects. Corridor members have worked diligently to bring about improvements to the Highway 136 East Corridor, but much remains to be done."

The next meeting of the Corridor group is being scheduled for late October or early November. The group plans to invite local state representatives to the meeting to learn their views on the future of transportation. More information on the fall meeting will be available closer to the date.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: memdemoc@nemr.net