FEMA Offering Storm Aid For Public Entities

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

June 13, 2002

FEMA Offering Storm Aid For Public Entities

After more than 10 inches of rain during the month of May including a substantial storm of more than three inches in one 24-hour period, Scotland County has been added to the federal disaster aid list in Missouri.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has made funding available to assist local government and nonprofit organizations make repairs caused by the rains and floods in late April and May.

The Public Assistance/ Infrastructure Program provides federal funds to reimburse costs up to 75 percent for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings, and parks.

Government entities eligible to participate include state agencies, local government, river authorities and Indian tribal organizations.

Eligible nonprofit organ-izations must have a tax-exempt ruling from the Internal Revenue Service or a nonprofit certification from the state. Eligible groups include educational, utilities, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, and temporary and permanent custodial care facilities. Also museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, sheltered workshops, homeless shelters, and any health and safety service of a government nature may be eligible.

In addition to Scotland County the following counties have been designated eligible for the program: Adair, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Carroll, Carter, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, DeKalb, Dent, Grundy, Howard, Howell, Iron, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Ralls, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, Schuyler, Shannon, Shelby, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: memdemoc@nemr.net