Scotland County Students Place Well In Art Competition

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

March 28, 2002

Scotland County High School art students participated in H-LG's 13th annual high school art competition. The awards ceremony was Tuesday, March 19. Row 1, L to R: Rebecca Miller, Sara Norton, Faith Woods, Jennifer Crawford, Angie Trueblood, Kim Bair. Row 2, L to R: Anna Dochterman, Michele Billings, art teacher Donna Billington, Jessica Spray, Samantha Fogle, Jennifer Rule, Chase Moore. Row 3, L to R: Phillip Parker, Lance Smith, Amanda Fountain.

Scotland County Students Place Well In Art Competition

Several Scotland County R-I High School students placed well in Hannibal-LaGrange College's 13th Annual High School Art Competition March 18-22. The awards ceremony was held Tuesday, March 19, at 1:00 p.m. at HLG's Mabee Sports Complex.

Area high school juniors and seniors within a 60 mile radius of the college campus participated, including the following schools: Monroe City High School, Hannibal High School, Scotland County High School, Highland High School and Mark Twain High School, all located in Missouri. The Illinois schools participating included Quincy High School, Quincy Notre Dame High School and Warsaw High School.

There were 174 total entries in the competition. Fifty-one winners were recognized. Scotland County High School's art teacher is Donna Billington.

Chase Moore of Scotland County won the Best in Drawing award. He received $25 cash and a $2,000 art scholarship to HLG.

Other winners from Scotland County include the following:


3rd Place: Jennifer Crawford


1st Place: Sheena Barton

Colored Pencil

3rd Place: Chase Moore

Honorable Mention: Jennifer Crawford

Oil Painting

2nd Place: Sheena Barton

Honorable Mention: Jennifer Crawford

Acrylic Painting

2nd Place: Kim Bair

3rd Place: Rebecca Miller

Mixed Media

1st Place: Angela Trueblood

2nd Place: Faith Woods

Honorable Mention: John Grogan


3rd Place: Rebecca Miller

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: