S.C. Extension Council Elects New Officers

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

February 27, 2003

S.C. Extension Council Elects New Officers

The Scotland County Extension Office announced the results of its February election Monday.

Jeff Behrens and Linda Kapfer were re-elected to two-year terms from the Jefferson Township. Darrell Monroe and Roy Monroe were elected to the first term from Jefferson.

In the voting for Combined Township candidates, David McRobert was re-elected. Lila Spray was elected to her first term.

Officers for the Extension Council are elected to two-year terms. A councilperson can serve a maximum of two consecutive terms, and then is not eligible to run for re-election.

Voting was conducted during February with ballot boxes present at the Extension Office, the Community Bank of Memphis, MCM Bank, the Bank of Kirksville, US Bank, and at the Farm City Fest.

The Extension Council also consists of elected members: Dr. Robert Mosely, Tom DeBerry, Beverly Talbert, Bruce Childress, Michele Drummond, Tary Wiley, and Tina Gordy. Dean Childress from the Scotland County Commissioners, Mike Stone representing the Memphis City Council, and Kristy Eggleston-Wood from Farm Bureau are appointed members.

The Extension Council oversees the operation of the Scotland County University Outreach and Extension office. The Extension Office coordinates 4-H, the Master Gardeners, the Tiger Trail, and many other community programs.

Darla Campbell is the interim County Program Director. She replaced Dr. Dan Remley, who resigned in August. One of the tasks of this council will be to oversee the hiring of a new County Program Director in Scotland County.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: memdemoc@nemr.net