Holt Wins Race At Lee County Speedway

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

August 28, 2003

Holt Wins Race At Lee County Speedway

A number of local drivers got a tune-up for the holiday weekend special race at Scotland County Speedway by traveling to Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, IA August 22.

SCS closed out the regular season August 9 but will hold a special Sunday night race August 31 that will feature the Pepsi Sprint Invaders as well as modifieds, hobby stocks and two-man cruisers.

Several local racers are using the down time to travel to area tracks and are fairing well in their transition.

Mark Holt made the jump to Lee County Speedway last Friday night and apparently enjoyed the change of scenery. The Memphis driver piloted the #11 car to a first place finish in the contest. Unfortunately after the race Holt was penalized two spots (given a third place finish) because he made contact with the cone during a restart in the contest. Fellow Memphis driver Jeremy Hamlin also competed in the hobby stock class.

SCS 2003 points champion Tony Fraise had to settle for a second place finish behind rival Mark Burgtorf in the A-modified feature race. Bob Dale of Gorin finished in ninth place in the race and Jardin Fuller of Memphis was 16th.

The August 22 race settled the points championships at LCS and several familiar faces for Memphis race fans were crowned champions. Tommy Elston took the title in the late model class edging out Jody Wood. SCS champion Terry Schlipman was fourth at LCS.

Fraise was named the big winner in the A-mods earning the points championship at both tracks. He was not alone in the feat, as Jason Cook took the points title in the stock car class at both tracks as did Jack Evans, Jr. for the B-mods.

Greg Johnson of Burlington was the top point winner in the hobby stock class. SCS champ Jeff Soper was third at LCS.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: memdemoc@nemr.net