Filing Period Closes For April Election

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

January 29, 2004

Filing Period Closes For April Election

The official filing period for the April 6 general election came to a close last week and a general lack of candidates means voters will be making few choices on the ballot.

The Scotland County R-I School Board will not even be on the ballot. With only two candidates filing for the two positions, the district is not required to hold an election.

Incumbents Doug Shalley and David Kirkpatrick both re-filed for three-year terms on the SCR-I Board of Education. With no challengers the district will save on the costs of the election.

The Gorin R-III District however will have one contested race. Donald Miller and Larry Mohr are both vying for the one-year un-expired term on the Gorin School Board.

The winner will join David Alderton and Tammy Weidenbenner who are running unopposed to fill the two other vacancies on the board. They will fill three-year terms.

The Gorin School will not be the only race on the ballot, there will be at least one other.

The City of Memphis will elect aldermen for each ward as well as a mayor. While incumbents Ron Alexander and Teresa Skinner are the lone candidates for the office of mayor and west ward alderman, respectively, there will be a race in the east ward. Incumbent Mike Stone is being challenged by Ed Hogarth for a two-year term on the city council.

The hospital, nursing home and ambulance district will also have elections for directors.

Joe McVeigh is seeking re-election as the Sub-District 2 Director for the Scotland County Memorial Hospital. Curtis Ebeling filed for the un-expired term for Sub-District 6.

The Scotland County Ambulance District and the Scotland County Nursing Home District each have two incumbents that have filed for re-election.

Jan Meeks (Region 6) and Vaughn Biggs (Region 3) will continue to serve on the governing board for the ambulance district.

Doug Robinson (District 6) and Bill McRobert (District 2) will be on the ballot again for re-election to the nursing home board.

With limited races on the school and municipal levels it may take the lone county issue to draw citizens out to the polls. Voters must decide whether or not to continue the 31-cent tax levy for the Special Road and Bridge Fund. The tax comes before the voters every four-years for renewal.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: