Ballots Finalized As Filing Closes For August Primary

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

April 1, 2004

Ballots Finalized As Filing Closes For August Primary

The August 3 Primary Election ballots took final form as far as the county offices are concerned on Tuesday, March 30 when the filing period officially closed at 5:00 p.m.

One thing is for certain, the county will have two new county commissioners for the first time in nearly a decade as neither Roger Riebel or Dean Childress filed for re-election.

A number of candidates did come forward to seek the office at the time of the changing of the guard.

In the western district, Greta Slocum is seeking the Republican nomination. Voters on the Democratic ticket will have to decide between three candidates, Harold (Lew) Prather, Paul Campbell and Tom Priebe.

The Democratic primary will be even more clouded in the eastern district where five candidates have filed. Win Hill, Junior Snodgrass, Robert Moseley, Kenneth Eggleston and Stanley Hatfield all filed for the office on the Democratic ticket.

The Republican primary will feature a runoff for eastern district commissioner where Steve Kirkpatrick and Chris Van Hoozen have filed for their party’s nomination.

A number of candidates are vying to replace Campbell as the County’s Public Administrator. Shelley Small, Linda (Kapfer) Brown and Mary L. Morgan all filed for the office on the Democratic ballot. Ron Alexander and Ellen Aylward have filed for the office on the Republican side of the ballot.

Incumbent Wayne Winn is running for another term as Scotland County Sheriff. The Republican will face opposition on the Democratic side of the ballot where Mike Steeples has filed for the office.

There will be a November race of the county assessor office. Teresa Skinner filed on the Democratic ticket to challenge incumbent Jim Ward, a Republican.

Only one office will be uncontested. Ginny Monroe, Democratic candidate for county coroner, has no opposition as she seeks reelection.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: