Large Crowd Attends Soil, Water Event

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

March 15, 2007

Large Crowd Attends Soil, Water Event

The Scotland County Soil District held their annual meeting on March 8th at the V.F.W. in Memphis. Over 180 attended the meeting. Doug Freburg, Chairman of the Soil District opened the meeting at 10:15 a.m. The morning started with coffee and doughnuts and the NRCS & SWCD personnel updated landowners on programs available through their agencies.

Tom Deberry, retired RC&D Coordinator, gave an interesting presentation of his trip to Africa in 2005. He had two of his mounts on display for everyone to see.

The Scotland County FFA Creed Speaker, Elizabeth Small, FFA Division I Speaker, Ashley Westhoff and FFA Division II speaker Calla Davis gave their speeches that they will take to contest this month. The Parliamentary Procedure Team gave an interesting program for all to enjoy. Megan Westhoff of the FFA gave an Advance Speech that she is taking to contest also.

Duane Ebeling, member of the Scotland County Soil District, presented Andrew Cowell and Hannah Kiddoo with the 2007 Essay Contest Award. These two seniors each received a $500.00 award for the essays they prepared.

Tom Deberry, representing the Community Bank of Memphis, presented the 2007 Poster Contest winners with their cash awards.

The Soil District furnished a free lunch to all who attended.

The Scotland County Singers, Megan Westhoff, Lacey Jack, Jessie Baker, McKinsay Cooley, Andrea Shelley and Kristen Williams, entertained the crowd during the lunch hour. Jamie Hicks is their music instructor and they were accompanied by Angela Westhoff.

The afternoon program was given by Scott Brassfield, local taxidermist from Memphis. All attending enjoyed a very interesting program on the different steps involved in making a deer mount. Scott had several deer mounts and a bobcat on display.

The winner of the Clark B. Ewing Conservation Memorial was Lisa Tague of Gorin.

Door prizes were given out at the close of the meeting.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: