Filing Frenzy Generates Busy Ballot For County Election

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

March 27, 2008

Filing Frenzy Generates Busy Ballot For County Election

A filing frenzy at the end of the official period for candidates to declare for the August primary election helped swell the ranks of office seekers at the county level.

A total of seven candidates tossed their hat in the ring for the office of Eastern District Commissioner.

James Parker and Denis Clatt filed on the Republican ticket while voters will choose among five candidates during the Democratic primary including Jason Moss, Cecil Parsons, Chipper Harris, Chris Montgomery and Steve Snodgrass.

Incumbent Win Hill did not file for re-election.

Two other races will be decided by voters, but not until the November general election. Incumbent Wayne Winn filed on the Republican ticket for sheriff. He will be opposed by deputy Bryan Whitney, a Democrat.

Incumbent County Assessor Jim Ward, a Republican will be opposed by Democrat Jerry Grubb.

The three other county offices on the ballot have no opposition for incumbents, western district commissioner Paul Campbell, public administrator Ellen Aylward and coroner Ginny Monroe.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: