Musgrove Earns First Team All-Conference Honors

Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

March 13, 2008

Musgrove Earns First Team All-Conference Honors

Last year Scotland County came from nowhere to record a perfect season and capture the Tri-Rivers Conference basketball crown. While they didnít quite match that feat, this yearís Cinderella story had to be Schuyler County.

The Rams went 6-1 in league play and finished in second place despite pre-season predictions that placed them toward the bottom of the conference standings.

Jacob Winkler led the Rams march and last week the junior forward was rewarded by the conference coaches who selected him the Most Valuable Player in the TRC.

Winkler was joined on the first team all conference list by fellow unanimous selections, junior Dennis Dent of Knox County and senior Cody Musgrove of Scotland County.

Musgrove averaged 18.3 points and 10.8 rebounds per contest. He also led SCR-I with an average of three assists and three blocks a game.

Fellow seniors Jesse Hinkle of Putnam County and Colt Sommers of Clark County round out the five-member first team.

Despite its impressive performance, Schuyler County did not place another player on the all conference list. The Coach of the Year honors went to Clint Smith of Kahoka, as the Indians were a perfect 7-0 in league play to take the title.

The conference champs placed three players on the honor roll as, did third place Knox County (5-2) and fourth place Putnam County (4-3).

The second team consisted of Clark County junior Michael Brennan; Putnam County senior Torey Weston; North Shelby junior Michael Stoneburner; Knox County senior Daniel McMahon; and Brookfield junior Colby Bailey.

The third team consisted of Clark County junior Ethan Allen; Brookfield junior Ryan Falconer; Knox County senior Cory Shultz; Milan junior Logan Hill; and Putnam County sophomore Daniel Mallette.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: