Serving This Community For 138 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

September 23, 2010

Law Officers to be Honored by US Justice Department

A high-profile Scotland County criminal case has led to several area law enforcement officers being recognized for their efforts in apprehending a fugitive that fired shots at a Scotland County Sheriff’s Deputy during a high-speed chase last year.

Sheriff Wayne Winn, Chief Deputy Bryan Whitney and former sheriff’s deputy Jason Moss will be honored by the United States Department of Justice. United States Attorney Richard Callahan nominated the three Scotland County law officers as well as officers from the Clark County Sheriff’s Department, Van Buren County (Iowa) Sheriff’s Department, the Iowa Department of Public Safety and the Missouri and Iowa branches of the ATF, for their efforts in the case United States vs. Christopher Armstrong, et. al. case.

The officers will be part of the department’s annual awards program, scheduled for Thursday, October 7, 2010 at 3:00 p.m. in the En Banc Courtroom of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals on the 28th floor of the Thomas F. Eagleton United States Courthouse in St. Louis.

“Congratulations and thank you for your outstanding contribution to the cause of justice,” said Callahan in a letter to the recipients.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: