Serving This Community For 136 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

May 27, 2010

Track Standouts Return From State Minus Hardware, But Poised For Return Trip

The Scotland County track team returned home from Jefferson City minus medals, but with the knowledge they all could make a return trip to the state track finals in 2011. Five underclassmen represented SCR-I in the Missouri Class 2 State Track Meet May 21 and 22 at Dwight T. Reed Stadium on the campus of Lincoln University.

Loren Smith was the lone representative for the Lady Tigers but she brought home the best showing, a ninth place finish in the shot put. The sophomore threw 356 just missing out on a medal.

Kylie Cornman, a senior from Liberty, won the state title with a throw of 415.5. Hannah Kuenzel, a senior from Valle Catholic was second, clearing 412 followed by Kelsey Benoit, a sophomore from Centralia.

Rodney Sears took the track in a pair of events for the Tigers.

The junior finished 10th in the 800-meters, narrowly missing qualifying for the final event. He ran a time of 2:05.09.

John Hughes a senior from Mark Twain won the final heat in a time of 1:55.43, edging Austin Humsley, a junior from Principia.

Sears anchored the SCR-I 4x400 meter relay team that also consisted of Monte Salley (freshman), Zach Miller (freshman) and Sabe Sears (junior). The team finished 16th in a time of 3:44.93.

The team of Maplewood-Richmond Heights won the event, setting a new state record in a time of 3:23. The team consisted of all juniors, Eric Liska, Nick Coulter, Bobby Norful and Marcus Tyler.

Correction: The Memphis Democrat previously reported that the SCR-I 4x400 meter team set a new school record with its time at the district race.

The SCR-I school record was set in 2007 by the team of Bryce Blomme, Grant Blomme, Trey Crowe and Joe Spurgeon.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: