Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

September 22, 2011

Scotland County Among USDA Designees as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 23 counties in Missouri as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that began May 1 and continues.

Those counties are: Andrew, Clark, Howard, Platte, Atchison, Clay, Jackson, Ray, Boone, Cole, Lafayette, Saline, Buchanan, Cooper, Lewis, St. Louis, Callaway, Franklin, Moniteau, Warren, Carroll, Holt, and Montgomery.

"Missouri producers can continue to count on USDA to provide emergency assistance during difficult times," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "America's farmers and rural communities are vitally important to our nation's economy, producing the food, feed, fiber and fuel that continue to help us grow and out-compete the rest of the world. President Obama and I are committed to use the resources at our disposal to reduce the impact of this disaster on Missouri producers and help to get those affected back on their feet."

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Missouri also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Audrain, Gasconade, Marion, Pike, Caldwell, Gentry, Miller, Randolph, Cass, Jefferson, Morgan, Scotland, Chariton, Johnson, Nodaway, Shelby, Clinton, Knox, Osage, St. Charles, Crawford, Lincoln, Pettis, Washington, De Kalb, Livingston and the City of St. Louis.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Illinois, Iowa, Kansas and Nebraska, also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Adams, Hancock, Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair counties in Illinois; Fremont, Lee, Page, Van Buren counties of Iowa; Atchison, Doniphan, Johnson, Leavenworth, and Wyandotte counties in Kansas; and Nemaha, Otoe, Richardson counties of Nebraska.

These counties were designated natural disaster areas September 15, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: