Serving This Community For 139 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

June 9, 2011

Five Tigers Claim All District Baseball Accolades

Five Scotland County Tigers were honored by the Class 2 District 8 coaches with all district honors following the completion of the 2010 season.

Ben Shannan and Sabe Sears were named first team all district. Shannan, a junior, compiled a 7-2 record as a pitcher. he posted a 1.14 ERA, allowing just 28 hits in 55 innings of work while striking out 82 batters on the year.

Sears, a senior, was the quintessential leadoff hitter, wreaking havoc on opposing teams to the tune of a .472 batting average. He scored 22 runs in 16 games for the Tigers and led the team with four triples.

Austin Springer, a senior from Salisbury, was named the district's most valuable player.

Also named to the first team were Jordon Wheeler, Daniel Howe and Tad Anderson of the distrcit champions from Schuyler County. Westran placed three players on the first team - Matt George, Tyler Hunt and Tycie Linneman. Rounding out the first team were Cameron Morford of Knox County, Will Mefford of South Shelby, and Greg Homan of Salisbury.

A pair of Tigers were named all district second team. Brock Bondurant and Drew Miller were recognized by the coaches for solid seasons at the plate. Miller hit .421 and led SCR-I with three home rurns, 26 runs scored and 25 RBI. Bondurant hit .360 with 12 RBI and 16 runs scored. Both players are juniors and will join Shannan as key components for next year's squad.

Also named to the second team all district were Andrew Baxley and Drake Buffington of Westran, Marcus Linebaugh and Wyatt Henke of Salisbury, Christien Henderson and Taylor Mullinix of Schuyler County, Wes Mefford of South Shelby, Brock Couch of Knox County, Blane Robinson of Putnam County and Cooper Bankus of Milan.

Five players received honorable mention, including Scotland County's Andrew Mathes. Jordan Wheeler of Milan, Jared Barnhard of Knox County, Dalton Shively of Schuyler County and Dylan Fainter of Salisbury also received honorable mention.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: