Serving This Community For 140 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

November 1, 2012

SCR-I Softball Players Earn All Region Honors

The post season awards continue to come in for the Scotland County softball program. After posting a 17-6 and falling one run short of a state playoff berth, SCR-I continues to receive recognition for several outstanding individual performances.

Three Lady Tigers were named to the class 1 Region Three all region team. The all-star team consisted of players from 24 schools from the Class 1 Districts 9, 10, 11 and 12.

Bethany Rader was named as a 1st team pitcher. She joined fellow hurlers Rachel Poston (Sr., Knox Co.), Kait David (Soph., Cairo) and Mackenzie Hombs (Soph., Westran).

Megan Creek was named as a first team shortstop. Fellow infielders earning the honors included Erin Shiflett (Sr., Meadville, 3B), Devin Gudehus (Sr., Knox Co., SS), Lexie Richards (Sr., Salisbury, SS), Sarah Dooley (Jr., Knox Co., 1B) and Caitlin Canote (Sr., Cairo, SS).

The all region outfield consisted of Sarah Roling (Sr., Salisbury), Mackenzie Hustead (Sr., Knox Co.) , Paige Couch (Sr., Knox Co.) and Kelsey Link (Jr., Westran).

Bailey Couch (Sr., Knox Co.) and Mallory Gardner (Jr., Northwestern) were named all region catchers. Hailey Cheeney (Fr., Southwest Livingston) was named first team utility player/designated hitter.

Scotland County's Randi Slaughter was named to the second team in the outfield.

The all region team consisted of players from District 9 - Canton, SCR-I, Knox County, Brashear, Marion County and North Shelby; District 10 - Atlanta, La Plata, Novinger, Green City, Bevier and Bucklin; District 11 - Westran, Cairo, Slater, Higbee, Glasgow and Keytesville; and District 12 - Northwestern, Southwest Livingston, Meadville, Hale, Tina-Avalon and Braymer.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: