Serving This Community For 140 Years, Online Since 2001
 Front Page
 Community Links
Community Calendar
Entire Newspaper Online
Would you use a digital subscription, which would place a .pdf copy of every page of the newspaper on line?

Yes, but only if it was free with my subscription.
Yes, even if it meant a slight increase in the cost of my subscription.
Yes, I don't subscribe to the paper, but would subscribe to this online version.

April 4, 2013

Voters Renew County Road and Bridge Sales Tax, Fill Governing Boards

A contested school board race helped spur a slightly higher than expected voter turnout for the April 2nd general municipal election. Scotland County Clerk Batina Dodge reported a 27% voter turnout on Tuesday.

Incumbent Trinity Davis was reelected to the Scotland County R-I School Board with 441 votes. She will be joined by Christy Aylward, who received 492 votes. Aylward will take the place of Fred Clapp, who did not seek reelection. Michelle Kleine received 333 votes and Matt Buford garnered 164.

The other key issue on the ballot, was the renewal of the once cent special road and bridge sales tax. Scotland County voters reapproved the levy for another four years by a final margin of 682 for and 123 against.

The Scotland County Health Department elected two board of directors members. Margaret Robeson was top vote getter with 551. Connie Goodwin received 509 votes to take the second available seat. Robert Parrish received 287 votes.

There were a pair of contested municipal races on the ballot as well.

In Rutledge Glada Shultz and Carol McCabe were reelected to the Village's Board of Directors. McCabe received 16 votes and Shultz earned 17 votes. Teresa Marie Cicela garnered two votes.

In the city of Memphis, incumbent Lucas Remley was reelected as east ward alderman. He received 94 votes to defeat challenger Scott Goff who earned 63 votes.

Fellow incumbent Allen Creek was reelected as west ward alderman. He ran unopposed, garnering 195 votes.

The only other opposed race on the ballot was for the lone vacancy on the board of directors for the Scotland County Rural Water District. Incumbent Robert C. Moseley was reelected with 191 votes to 184 votes for challenger Philip Kirkpatrick.

Three candidates were elected to the Gorin R-III Board of Education. Rhonda Peterson and Ryan Miller were elected for three year terms with 24 and 25 votes respectively. Bob Sears was elected to complete a one-year unexpired term with 23 votes. Five individuals received one write-in vote each for the second one-year unexpired term, forcing the issue to be decided at a later date.

In the city of Gorin. Robert "Bob" Sears ran unopposed for the office of mayor and earned 11 votes. Pat Brock ran unopposed for the east ward alderman post, receiving two votes. Ginger Bass was unopposed for the west ward alderman job, earning nine votes.

In the village of Arbela Dale McLeland and Howard Garrison were unopposed on the ballot for the two vacancies on the board of directors. They received seven and nine votes respectively.

There were no candidates on the ballot for the office of city clerk for Gorin. Diane Tague was a write in candidate, receiving five votes, to one vote for Alicia Berry.

The same was the case in the Village of Granger, where there were no candidates on the ballot for the three vacancies on the board of directors. Shane Shannan and Dana Shannan each received nine write-in votes. Devin Holt received seven votes. Richard Templeton garnered six votes and Jessica Spray received four. Six other candidates were written in on one ballot.

Copyright © 2001
Memphis Democrat
121 South Main Street
Memphis MO 63555
Phone: 660-465-7016 -- Email: